Pro-Kid Policy Plan

Children are our state’s greatest resource, and the decisions our leaders make about them impact our collective future.

Voices for Children in Nebraska has developed the following Pro-Kid Policy Plan, focusing on the issues of health, economic stability, child welfare, and juvenile justice. Our policy priorities are guided by research, data, and proven best practices that improve child well-being. We pay close attention to the impact of race, socioeconomic status, and geography, and seek to remove barriers to opportunity within these areas. This plan represents our vision for a Nebraska where strong communities allow all children to thrive.

Voices for Children works to ensure that:


Children and families have access to affordable, quality physical and behavioral health care. Consistent and preventive health care gives children the best start to grow up to be healthy and productive adults.

Economic Stability

Families are able to achieve financial security, and children’s basic needs are met. State economic policies support families in trying to build a better future and balance work and family life.

Child Welfare

Children grow up in safe, permanent, and loving homes. An effective child welfare system strengthens families and minimizes trauma through timely and appropriate action.

Juvenile Justice

Youth are held accountable for their actions in developmentally appropriate ways that promote community safety and allow them to grow into responsible citizens.

Contacting elected officials

How to use your voice on behalf of children

Do you have something to share with elected officials about children’s issues? It’s easy to contact policymakers using these tools — a legislative map, contact information for your representatives, and a wealth of information and data at your fingertips.

1: Find your district

2: Identify your elected official or officials

2016 Nebraska Legislature

Senator District Office Phone Email
Albrecht, Joni 17 471-2716
Baker, Roy 30 471-2620
Blood, Carol 3 471-2627
Bolz, Kate 29 471-2734
Bostelman, Bruce 23 471-2719
Brasch, Lydia 16 471-2728
Brewer, Tom 43 471-2628
Briese, Tom 41 471-2631
Chambers, Ernie 11 471-2612
Clements, Robert 2 471-2615
Crawford, Sue 45 471-2615
Ebke, Laura 32 471-2711
Erdman, Steve 47 471-2616
Friesen, Curt 34 471-2630
Geist, Suzanne 25 471-2731
Groene, Mike 42 471-2729
Halloran, Steve 33 471-2712
Hansen, Matt 26 471-2610
Harr, Burke J. 8 471-2722
Hilgers, Mike 21 471-2673
Hilkemann, Robert 4 471-2621
Howard, Sara 9 471-2723
Hughes, Dan 44 471-2805
Kolowski, Rick 31 471-2327
Kolterman, Mark 24 471-2756
Krist, Bob 10 471-2718
Kuehn, John 38 471-2732
Larson, Tyson 40 471-2801
Lindstrom, Brett 18 471-2618
Linehan, Lou Ann 39 471-2885
Lowe, John 37 471-2726
McCollister, John 20 471-2622
McDonnell, Mike 5 471-2710
Morfeld, Adam 46 471-2720
Murante, John 49 471-2725
Pansing Brooks, Patty 28 471-2633
Quick, Dan 35 471-2617
Riepe, Merv 12 471-2623
Scheer, Jim 19 471-2929
Schumacher, Paul 22 471-2715
Smith, Jim 14 471-2730
Stinner, John 48 471-2802
Thibodeau, Theresa 6 471-2714 tthibodeau!
Vargas, Tony 7 471-2721
Walz, Lynne 15 471-2625
Watermeier, Dan 1 471-2733
Wayne, Justin 13 471-2727
Williams, Matt 36 471-2642
Wishart, Anna 27 471-2632

3: Know your issues, share your data contains a wealth of information including:

  • Legislative Priority bills
  • Blog
  • Kids Count NEteractive data tool
  • Electronic version of the Kids Count in Nebraska Report

To stay current on children’s legislative issues, sign up for our free advoKID email alerts on our website to help you respond to the issues affecting children in the unicameral.

To use the KIDS COUNT Data Center – the interactive home of National, state, and county level data visit

To view the legislative calendar, read bills, listen live and more, visit

Other elected officials

U.S. President: Donald Trump

Nebraska Governor: Pete Ricketts

Nebraska Secretary of State: John A. Gale

Nebraska Attorney General: Doug Peterson

Nebraska State Treasurer: Don Stenberg

U.S. Senator: Deb Fischer

U.S. Senator: Ben Sasse

U.S. Representative-1st District: Jeff Fortenberry

U.S. Representative-2nd District: Don Bacon

U.S. Representative-3rd District: Adrian Smith