Scroll Top

Pro-Kid Policy Plan

Children are our state’s greatest resource, and the decisions our leaders make about them impact our collective future.

Voices for Children in Nebraska has developed the following Pro-Kid Policy Plan, focusing on the issues of health, economic stability, child welfare, and juvenile justice. Our policy priorities are guided by research, data, and proven best practices that improve child well-being. We pay close attention to the impact of race, socioeconomic status, and geography, and seek to remove barriers to opportunity within these areas. This plan represents our vision for a Nebraska where strong communities allow all children to thrive.

Voices for Children works to ensure that:


Children and families have access to affordable, quality physical and behavioral health care. Consistent and preventive health care gives children the best start to grow up to be healthy and productive adults.

Economic Stability

Families are able to achieve financial security, and children’s basic needs are met. State economic policies support families in trying to build a better future and balance work and family life.

Child Welfare

Children grow up in safe, permanent, and loving homes. An effective child welfare system strengthens families and minimizes trauma through timely and appropriate action.

Juvenile Justice

Youth are held accountable for their actions in developmentally appropriate ways that promote community safety and allow them to grow into responsible citizens.

Contacting elected officials

How to use your voice on behalf of children

Do you have something to share with elected officials about children’s issues? It’s easy to contact policymakers using these tools — a legislative map, contact information for your representatives, and a wealth of information and data at your fingertips.

1: Find your district

2: Identify your elected official or officials

2022 Nebraska Legislature

Senator District Office Phone Email
Aguilar, Raymond 35 471-2617
Albrecht, Joni 17 471-2716
Arch, John 14 471-2730
Blood, Carol 3 471-2627
Bostar, Eliot 29 471-2734
Bostelman, Bruce 23 471-2719
Brandt, Tom 32 471-2711
Brewer, Tom 43 471-2628
Briese, Tom 41 471-2631
Cavanaugh, John 9 471-2723
Cavanaugh, Machaela 6 471-2714
Clements, Robert 2 471-2613
Day, Jen 49 471-2725
DeBoer, Wendy 10 471-2718
Dorn, Myron 30 471-2620
Erdman, Steve 47 471-2616
Dover, Robert 19 471-2929
Friesen, Curt 34 471-2630
Geist, Suzanne 25 471-2731
Gragert, Tim 40 471-2801
Groene, Mike 42 471-2729
Halloran, Steve 33 471-2712
Hansen, Ben 16 471-2728
Hansen, Matt 26 471-2610
Hilgers, Mike 21 471-2723
Hilkemann, Robert 4 471-2621
Hughes, Dan 44 471-2805
Hunt, Megan 8 471-2722
Kauth, Kathleen 31 471-2327
Kolterman, Mark 24 471-2756
Lathrop, Steve 12 471-2623
Lindstrom, Brett 18 471-2618
Linehan, Lou Ann 39 471-2885
Lowe, John 37 471-2726
McCollister, John 20 471-2622
McDonnell, Mike 5 471-2710
McKinney, Terrell 11 471-2712
Morfeld, Adam 46 471-2720
Moser, Mike 22 471-2715
Murman, Dave 38 471-2732
Pansing Brooks, Patty 28 471-2633
Sanders, Rita 45 471-2617
Slama, Julie 1 471-2733
Stinner, John 48 471-2802
Vargas, Tony 7 471-2721
Walz, Lynne 15 471-2625
Wayne, Justin 13 471-2727
Williams, Matt 36 471-2642
Wishart, Anna 27 471-2632

3: Know your issues, share your data contains a wealth of information including:

  • Legislative Priority bills
  • Blog
  • Kids Count NEteractive data tool
  • Electronic version of the Kids Count in Nebraska Report

To stay current on children’s legislative issues, sign up for our free advoKID email alerts on our website to help you respond to the issues affecting children in the unicameral.

To use the KIDS COUNT Data Center – the interactive home of national, state, and county level data visit

To view the legislative calendar, read bills, listen live and more, visit

Other elected officials

U.S. President: Joe Biden

Nebraska Governor: Pete Ricketts

Nebraska Secretary of State: Bob Evnen

Nebraska Attorney General: Doug Peterson

Nebraska State Treasurer: John Murante

U.S. Senator: Deb Fischer

U.S. Senator: Ben Sasse

U.S. Representative-1st District: Mike Flood

U.S. Representative-2nd District: Don Bacon

U.S. Representative-3rd District: Adrian Smith